Do they award a Nobel Prize in Bondage?

From the sometimes-you-don’t-quite-get-what-you’re-looking-for-on-the-Internet department…

I like Paul Krugman. I’ve been reading his Op-ed pieces consistently in the New York Times for the last six years or so and, while I do tend to disagree with some of his viewpoints now and then, I tend to find him entertaining and quite sensible.

I am not an economist and I have never taken a formal class and in economics, however, I was happy to see that Paul was awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics a couple of weeks back. This prompted me to do a bit of research into the basics of the guy’s economics theories and, of course, I took the path that any serious researcher takes today: Google, Wikipedia, etc. etc.

I wandered my way over to Paul’s homepage at Princeton University:

…to see that it simply contained the following text:

Paul R. Krugman

Professor of Economics and International Affairs
Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544-1013

For the time being, I’m not updating this site.  However, you can find many of my writings and a lively discussion area at the Unofficial Page, www.pkarchive.org.  Also, Mark Thoma’s blog Economist’s View, economistsview.typepad.com, usually provides summaries of my NY Times columns, as well as many other interesting discussions.

Okaydokay, fair enough.  So I followed through and clicked on his recommended link to the “Unofficial Paul Krugman Website”, which was recently updated and seemed chocked-full of Paul Krugman information.

I then noticed a link to a message board at the top of the page:

Figuring I’d check out what other smart economists, like myself, were chatting about, I clicked on it.   What I found, however, wasn’t exactly what I suspected.

Instead of in-depth discussions on trade theory and the current economic impact of the world’s current banking crisis, I found lots of discussion about S&M, foot fetishes, spanking and all that other sorts of stuff that Nobel Prize-winning economists usually don’t like to talk about in public – all of which seemed be dished up courtesy of MystressDestiny.com.  (Warning: Not Safe For Work):

hmmm…interesting topics:

Was this the malicious doing of an anti-Krugmanite?  Or was it an accidental, but unfortunate error?  (Maybe IP address changed on a hosted message board site, etc.?).  Who knows, but it’s unfortunate timing on the week when the man was awarded one of the world’s greatest honors.

Or maybe economists aren’t all that boring afterall…

Leave a Reply

